Kindergarten

COMMUNICATION

Post 202

Hopefully things are moving along smoothly for your little student. Routines are set and they are settled into a full school day.

But what if they aren’t? What if your child is coming home upset about something going on in the classroom? How can you tell if it is a real problem or one of those things that come up and then go away in a day or two?

My thought would be if it lasts, to talk to your child’s teacher. So many parents/caretakers, especially those who are new to the school system, are hesitant to contact the school. They don’t want to be labeled “that parent” who is always complaining, demanding attention for their child. While there are certainly those type of parents, educators can quickly sense when that is the motivation for calls, emails, notes or texts.

Honestly, no teacher is ever upset with a parent who has a legitimate concern. We welcome your input. It helps us to better understand your child and so be better able to teach them. And that’s the whole point, isn’t it? Also, please always make your little one’s teacher is the first one you contact. They are with your child for the majority of the school day and will understand a particular problem better than an administrator would.

Usually there are two areas of concern…emotional/social well being and academics. I make it a point to tell parents that if something is going on at home that will affect their child in the classroom to please let me know. It will be kept confidential and will help me understand why your child is acting out or withdrawn in school so I can give them some extra TLC. If they are concerned about something going on in school, chances are other children are too, and communication gives me a heads up on the situation.

As far as academic worries, I can’t tell you how much we educators welcome those. We are teaching because we love to teach and when a parent wants to help their child learn, we are with you 100%. There are always some parents who never look at their child’s work or report card which doesn’t really make any sense. A lot of learning goes on in the primary grades. These grades are the base upon which the rest of your child’s academic career is built. so it’s important their foundation is strong.

The bottom line is that school is a partnership between home and school. We are all there to make your child’s school years happy and productive. Working together, we can make sure that happens.😀

Take Care. 🙂

Standard

6 thoughts on “COMMUNICATION

  1. petespringerauthor says:

    Thanks for this post. Partnering with parents is a key ingredient to any successful classroom. It makes no sense not to take advantage of this key partnership. Most parents truly want to help, and it’s up to us to foster opportunities for that to happen.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for your comment! I truly believe we work with parents. After all, they know their children best. So many, though , don’t want to “bother” teachers. Never a bother when they are truly involved!! ( Btw…your book looks amazing. I am also an attempting author/illustrator…children’s book about friendship in school. Congratulations!)

      Liked by 1 person

  2. petespringerauthor says:

    Best of luck to you in your endeavor. I’m trying to write contemporary MG stories, the age I know best.

    While I taught in grades 2-6, my wife was a longtime preschool teacher and then director of the same preschool. I have a couple of close male friends who teach kindergarten. I’m so happy we’ve broken through that stereotype, because good male role models are important at any age.

    Friendship in school is an important theme, especially in the politically charged climate that we find ourselves in. I’ve often said that young children, in particular, can teach adults a thing or two because they are so accepting of others.

    I just started following your blog. I wish you well with your book. I highly recommend joining SCBWI (Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators) if you’re not a member yet.

    Peace,
    Pete

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much. Good luck to you, too…although you seem to be moving right along! And I am a member of SCBWI…a great organization. Yes, I agree with you about friendship. One of my K kids always used to say, “I’m happy for you, my friend.” That became my class theme. So important.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment